Key Stage 3 and IGCSE

Curriculum for Years 7 & 8


The curriculum of BICC meets the ever-changing needs of our pupils and is based on the foundation of the system of British Education (Cambridge International programme). The programme has been developed by the Cambridge International Examination (CIE), which is the world’s largest provider of the International Education Programmes and qualifications for (5-19 years). The BICC curriculum encourages the development of the most essential skills for success. These skills include linguistic, critical thinking, creative and Leadership skills. These skills are instilled in our pupils through an engaging, student centred and differentiated learning environment. BICC has always strived to recruit the most educationally qualified native English speakers to be the prime guide for the coming generations. We are not only dedicated to hiring the most qualified, but we are also aware of the great importance of the continuous professional development that any staff needs to meet the ever-changing techniques in teaching.


The checkpoint Curriculum in English, Mathematics and Science is taught over two years, year 7 & year 8 with the Secondary checkpoint exam at the end of year 8. Moreover, to these subjects, BICC has set their own extra curricula subjects for Year 7 and Year 8 which includes subjects like French/German, ICT, History, Geography, Art & Design and Physical Education. This is in addition to the Egyptian Ministry of Education (E.M.O.E) requirements to follow a centralised curriculum for the Arabic Language, Religion and Social Studies.




Assessments and Reports


Each subject teacher will be running regular quizzes after each topic/unit/chapter upon his/her own judgment. Reports will be distributed at the end of each academic term.  Factors considered in the assessment process are: Homework, Projects, and Class work, Participation, Behaviour, Tests and Quizzes.


Students are also required to study the Egyptian Ministry of Education (E.M.O.E) curriculum, and pass the exams, for Arabic Language, Religion and Social Studies at midyear and end of the year.

Moreover, Year 8 students must sit CIE exam (Checkpoint Exam) set by Cambridge International Education Programme, in cooperation with the British Council, Egypt. Checkpoint exams are in English, Mathematics and Science, each subject has two papers. In the case of Science, the two papers are equal in terms of demand on students. In Mathematics, papers are divided into calculator and non-calculator.


Cambridge Checkpoint tests:

  • Are valued and accepted throughout the world for their high standards of assessment
  • Are delivered worldwide through a network of schools, colleges and training providers
  • Provide a good indication of Cambridge IGCSE and O level results
  • Were created with an international audience in mind so that they are suitable for students of all cultural and language backgrounds
  • Provide teachers with detailed information about the strengths and weaknesses of their pupils to focus their teaching


Checkpoint is one of CIE qualifications with a Statement of Achievement report. It is a way in which CIE can help students make the most of their educational opportunities. They are targeting students who are planning to pursue the I.G.C.S.E. system.



Checkpoint Report Information

Each student will receive a Statement of achievement and a report that provides more details about his or her performance. Results are given as Checkpoint scores between 0.0 – the weakest performance – and 6.0 – the best performance. The average score is between 3.0 and 4.0. The report gives a score for the subject and for the main topics/skills, so that teachers can identify any important strengths or weaknesses.


The report gives information about the questions that provide evidence of the student’s strengths and weaknesses. These are the questions that student got right, but most others of the same ability got wrong.

Or conversely, the questions that the student got wrong, but most others of the same ability got right.


To be promoted to the following year, students should pass all their internal school assessments, Cambridge checkpoint and E.M.O.E Exams.  By exception, a student may be required to attend Summer School.  If a child does not attend, they will be permanently excluded from BICC. Cambridge Pre-IGCSE – Year 9


Year 9 has been designated their “Pre-IGCSE” year as it indicates that the courses involved are designed to prepare students for the academic expectations of what is to follow at IGCSE. This is a very important transitional year as it gives students the solid foundation in core academic areas to face the challenges of IGCSE in Years 10, 11 and 12.


Year 9 exams are offered by Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) under the administration of the British Council in Cairo. They cover English as a Second Language, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and Physics at the Core level. The Academic levels of the subjects are equivalent to the Egyptian national system. However, the way the contents of the subjects are delivered, and the style of the exams differ.


Students are also required to study the Egyptian Ministry of Education (E.M.O.E) curriculum, and pass the Ministry exams for Arabic Language, Religion and Social Studies.


To be promoted to year 10, students must pass the five IGCSE Core subjects they studied. In addition to the CIE exams, they need to pass their Adadeya Exams (E.M.O.E subjects) and the school exams in the extra-curricular (internal) subjects: French/German, ICT and Humanities.




IGCSE – Year 10, 11 and 12



IGCSE was developed by University of Cambridge International Examinations (in short CIE) in 1988.

University of Cambridge has been the UK local examination board since 1858. The term “IGCSE” is a registered trademark of University of Cambridge. IGCSE is a certificate issued by Cambridge University (CIE) &London University – Edexcel (EIE).


IGCSE examination corrections are carried out with utmost precision. The one paper is corrected and revised and then re-corrected all over again to ensure a fair and accurate evaluation.  IGCSE is expected to be covered over the period of three years. A student has the right to improve his grades over the 3 years period. It is always the highest grade that is considered regardless of the order of succession.


End of Year Exams & Results

Assessment takes place at the end of the course and includes written, oral, coursework and practical assessment.  IGCSE subjects are tested on two or more papers given on different days. Each paper examines the same subject and the same syllabus using different forms of examination.


IGCSE examination corrections are carried out with an utmost precision. The one paper is corrected and revised and then recorrected all over again to ensure a fair and accurate evaluation.


The results are generally released in August (for the May/June exam session) and January (for the October/November exam session) or March (for the January session).



The new IGCSE 9-1 grading system

The following IGCSE grading system has been approved by the Ministry of Education.




Internal Assessments & Reports:


Each subject teacher will be running regular quizzes after each topic/unit/chapter upon his/her own judgment. However, BICC will schedule Exams prior to an evaluation report, submitted to the parent


Your Children's Future are in Safe Hands!